Spring/Summer 2007 cover art
Nine years of publishing in Canada.
While things in life go 'missing' all the time, they're rarely forgotten . . .
LICHEN's final issue, Spring/Summer 2007, entitled "Missing", included the work of: Brian Bartlett, John Barton, Jonathan Bennett, George Elliott Clarke, Jeramy Dodds, Steven Heighton, Steven Laird, Mark Medley, Sharon McCartney, Robyn Sarah, Ingrid Ruthig, Gwynn Scheltema, Ruth E. Walker & many others. Read the ad here.  
News and kudos about some former LICHEN contributors and editors. . .
* Past contributors whose books you might like to check out are: Allison Baggio, Mark Callanan, Grace O'Connell, Jonathan Bennett, Cornelia Hoogland, Jim Nason, Stuart Ross, Moez Surani, Ania Szado, Paul Vermeersch, along with many others.
* Founding editor Ruth E. Walker launches her novel LIVING UNDERGROUND (Seraphim Editions) in September 2012. For dates and info, visit http://ruthewalker.ca/books/living-underground/.
* Editor Ingrid Ruthig's work appears in The Best Canadian Poetry in English, 2012 anthology (edited by Carmine Starnino and Molly Peacock, and published by Tightrope Books.) 
* Founding editor Rabindranath Maharaj won the Trillium Book Award as well as the Toronto Book Award for his novel The Amazing Absorbing Boy in 2011.
* Editor Ingrid Ruthig launched two new books in fall 2011: Richard Outram, Essays on His Works and Slipstream. Visit here: http://ingridruthig.com/text/
* Editor Steven Laird's poetry collection Mary Moorman Shot Abraham Zapruder Shooting President Kennedy Getting Shot is available on Lulu.com. Click here. 
* Contributor Johanna Skibsrud won the 2010 Giller Prize for her first novel THE SENTIMENTALISTS! 
* Contributor Darryl Berger published his first book, Punishing Ugly Children, with Killick Press.
* Contributor Tony Press, whose story "Viper's Smile" first appeared in LICHEN, 2006 writes: "This story was the first of mine to be published, and I remain proud that it was LICHEN that chose it."
* Contributor Jeramy Dodds' first poetry collection CRABWISE TO THE HOUNDS won the 2009 Trillium Award & was shortlisted for the 2009 Griffin Poetry Prize & the 2009 Gerald Lampert Award.
* Contributors Sharon McCartney and Antony Di Nardo's poems from LICHEN were longlisted for anthology The Best Canadian Poetry in English 2008.
* Founding Editor Ruth E. Walker was nominated for a National Magazine Award! Read more here.
Enlarge view by clicking
LICHEN publishes "work that, while strong on craft and accessibility, is also fresh, engaging, risky; insightful
and inciteful." - Books in Canada
*Image at top of page: a collage of selected past LICHEN cover art by Steve McCabe, Ingrid Ruthig, Randall J. Rospond, LauraTaylor, Dianne Horvath, Rick Bogacz & Bryony Beckitt.
LICHEN gratefully acknowledges the past financial support of the Ontario Arts Council,
the Ontario Trillium Foundation, and FRIENDS OF LICHEN.
Copyright ©LICHEN. While copyright of each contribution remains with its contributor, no part of the
magazine or this site may be reproduced or used in any way without the written consent of LICHEN's
Editorial Board, or in the case of a contributor's work, without permission from that writer/artist.
Site updated on October 30, 2012. Site Meter